PDA

View Full Version : jaguar missing fins?

ruckus226
02-08-2007, 04:00 AM
hello i am a noob, i am ruckus226 hoping someone can point me in the right direction..

i bought a jaguar cichlid about 2 months ago at a local pet store.. it was in a 55 gallon tank and said very agressive on the side of the tank as it sat there and twitched i knew i had to have it.

When i got it home after tank set up i noticed something i didnt notice at the pet store and that was that she had no left side fins.. the side fin. looks like a little nub flapping there.. thus the name i gave her is Nemo.. and shes even missing that side on her belly fins.. does anyone know if they will grow back or how this could have happened at all? i would greatly appreciate your help.

also i got the bright idea to spend 6 dollars on another cichlid, no idea what it is.. i might be able to take a picture of it.. surprisingly the jaguar has not attacked it.. it is only about 1.5 inches in size, and taller than a gold fish, but she will eat the goldfish and hasnt even tried to attack the youngster cichlid. the only thing i can think of is that she has been laying eggs lately and maybe she thinks one hatched? any ideas on this? thanks

Fishguy2727
02-08-2007, 12:51 PM
If the fins are gone very close to the body they may not grow back at all. Sometimes aggressive animals just pick one or more other animals that they don't kill for some unknown reason. Will either take pellets? If so it is much healthier for them and you will end up with faster growing, healthier, better colored fish. Live foods can introduce a lot of parasites and diseases, they make the fish more aggressive, and they are not even close to nutritionally complete.

cocoa_pleco
02-08-2007, 10:34 PM
yeah, they may not grow back, but sometimes they'll grow back a bit

freshwaterfishlover
02-12-2007, 07:48 PM
The fish was attacked at the store. Just my guess.

ruckus226
03-07-2007, 02:12 AM