PDA

View Full Version : Foreground plant question

Lady Hobbs
01-28-2009, 05:27 PM
I need a foreground plant for my 55 gallon with 130 watts. So far, I have found Pearl Weed, Sagittaria subuta or pygmy vals that all do OK with medium light. Most of the others require higher lighting.

Of those 3 mentioned, which would you prefer or other idea's welcome, too.

geowashlaw
01-28-2009, 05:44 PM
Lady Hobbs,

You know I'm a newbie, but here is my input. I was looking at the Sagittaria Subulata for my planting plan as well. I decided against it because of this blurb on Tropica.com, which concerned me:

"This plant may cause problems because in certain conditions it suddenly grows to a height of 50 cm when it grows older. But if it is then moved into the background it may become low again. In the aquarium it sometimes sends a long flower stem to the surface, and small white flowers unfold just above the water surface."

As for preference, I guess it depends on the "look" you want. I was originally looking at the subulata because I wanted something "pointy" to contrast with other plants with a more rounded leaf structure.

Beyond that, I'm not much help, because I still haven't gotten my first planted tank actually put together and growing yet :hmm3grin2orange:

Wild Turkey
01-28-2009, 05:45 PM
i agree dwarf sag is one of my favoritesthumbs2:

Lady Hobbs
01-28-2009, 05:48 PM
Lady Hobbs,

You know I'm a newbie, but here is my input. I was looking at the Sagittaria Subulata for my planting plan as well. I decided against it because of this blurb on Tropica.com, which concerned me:

"This plant may cause problems because in certain conditions it suddenly grows to a height of 50 cm when it grows older. But if it is then moved into the background it may become low again. In the aquarium it sometimes sends a long flower stem to the surface, and small white flowers unfold just above the water surface."