PDA

View Full Version : Filter Set Up - A Few Questions

Cichlid_Man
01-25-2009, 01:27 PM
Hi,
I have a few questions about filter setup.

1. I have an aqua clear 110 on a 40 gallon tank but it does not have the sponge, so I am just using filter floss held down with some quartz rocks. Do I absolutely need bio max, or can I just buy a household sponge to hold the bacteria?

2. Isn't bacteria present in the gravel and ornaments also? Why is it needed to have things like sponges or bio max in your filter also.

Forgive me for the questions. I have been keeping fish for 40 years and back in the old days we had piston pumps and inside the tank filters and never had problems with ammonia or anything else.
Thanks!

Sharon
01-25-2009, 01:40 PM
Hi Joe:ssmile: ...As far as I know, you can use any type of sponge in the filter. If you use a household sponge, make sure it's soap free, as I'm sure you already know. The bacteria is everywhere in the tank, but the biggest colony would be the filter media....

Cichlid_Man
01-25-2009, 01:53 PM
Hi Joe:ssmile: ...As far as I know, you can use any type of sponge in the filter. If you use a household sponge, make sure it's soap free, as I'm sure you already know. The bacteria is everywhere in the tank, but the biggest colony would be the filter media....

I will probably get a small household sponge and add a small media bag of bio max when I can get to town.

I just set this tank up last Sunday with 8 fish, and I still have no ammonia, nitrite or nitrate readings. PH is 7.6
I used stress zyme, plus about 2 pounds of gravel from an established tank. Maybe I won't see a cycle at all??

Sharon
01-25-2009, 02:04 PM
Well, the established gravel will have helped, but I think you are going to cycle. If the cycle was established, you'd be getting some nitrates. I would have thought you'd be getting Ammonia by now, as well, with 8 fish. What type fish? Have you changed any water?

Cichlid_Man
01-25-2009, 02:18 PM