PDA

View Full Version : introducing snails to tank, cleaning algae

jamison170
12-30-2008, 04:58 PM
I have a 10g freshwater tank. I was going to get 1 or 2 margarita or nerite snails to clear algae as the algae is getting out of hand.

1. should those do the job of cleaning the algae? it is mostly on the glass.

2. the substrate is like small gravel. Is that going to be ok for them, will they be able to get around?

3. how do I introduce them to the tank? I read something about drip treatement or something like that. Just drip my water into their bag a little at a time?

4. do I need to add calcium or anything like that?

Thanks for your help I am a total noob with regard to snails.

Northernguy
12-30-2008, 05:20 PM
Snails need a high ph.
Snails also multiply like crazy.
Have you looked at Apple Snails yet?They need a pair to mate and the eggs are easily seen and removed.http://www.applesnail.net/
Why not get an oto?They clean real good.
As for acclimating just float the bag for 20-30min.Do not add the water from the bag to your tank.

terrapin24h
12-30-2008, 06:11 PM
do you have freshwater or marine tanks? i'm pretty sure margarita snails are marine only and nerite snails commonly found in tanks are also SW, maybe brackish. I think there may be a FW species, but haven't heard of them being sold anywhere. Like NG said, applesnail.net is your friend.

--chris

Wild Turkey
12-30-2008, 06:30 PM
NG has the right idea here.

Really, algae problems are much more easily fixed at the source, which is too much light or nutrients in the water. Adding real plants will take some away from the algae. Indirect sunlight can also cause algae.

I usually dont recommend apple snails for people who use gravel, but its not because its hard for them them to get around, more because they are messy. They should be able to get around fine.

Research first, always

jamison170
12-30-2008, 09:27 PM
What is an oto?