PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

HowlingBlackWolf
01-25-2006, 02:27 AM
I'm new to tropical fish. I set up my first tank about a month and a half ago. It's a 30 gal Oceanic Cube, filtered by an AquaClear Power Filter 110. There are no live plants. Currently it's populated by 5 zebra danios, 6 rosy barbs, and one red-tailed shark.

My first question is about water changes. When I do water changes, should I remove the decorations from the tank? If not, how do I clean all of the gravel? I have a siphon gravel filter, but when I use it, I upset everything in the tank. And when I add water, it's cloudy for a few days afterward. I've been doing 25% water changes about every 10-11 days.

I started with 3 zebra danios, and after two weeks added the 6 barbs. After another week or so I added 4 more danios. Two of them disappeared, eaten by the barbs, I assume, because I found no dead fish in the tank. My water tests showed zero ammonia at this point. ph, nitrate and nitrite levels also were fine. About a week and a half ago, I added the red-tailed shark. My most recent water tests have shown increased ammonia levels. I did a 25% change yesterday, but the ammonia level did not go down. I replaced the carbon filter cartridge with an ammonia-removing cartridge today. I'm hoping that will help, but I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong. From my reading, I assumed the water changes would keep the ammonia levels in check. I also thought that the fact that my filter is rated for 60-100 gallon tanks would keep it nice and clean. Is it possible to have too much filtration?

Also, recently I've noticed brown spots on the tank decorations, including the artifical plants. Is this some kind of algae? There's nothing growing on the insides of the tank. Should I be removing the decorations and cleaning them when I do a water change?

I'd appreciate any insights or suggestions that anyone can offer. Thanks in advance.

nick

Full3R
01-25-2006, 02:35 AM
Hey Nick,