PDA

View Full Version : Cardinal tetra behavior?

Chrona
01-24-2007, 01:14 AM
Hi all, this is my first time posting on these forums, but I've been raising fish for a few years now, and I'm stumped about cardinal tetras. My 15 gallon currently contains 1 quarter-sized angelfish (never seen any aggressive behavior), 1 platy, and a chinese algae eater (very small, going to transfer to my 55 gallon when/if he starts getting territorial. I started building up a small group (5) of cardinal tetras, with plans for getting maybe another 4 or 5 for a nice shoal. One of the smaller ones died about 4 day after I put them in the tank (wasn't eating anything), but health wise, all of the other tetras seem to be doing great...rich color and lots of energy. The problem, it seems, is that now, the four remaining fellas now essentially pick corners, and for the most part, stay at the bottom of the tank. If anyone goes in another corner, he/she is promptly chased away. Is this normal behavior for groups smaller than 6? Furthermore, they seem excessively jittery, as in, they will all dive into the cave for several minutes at the slightest outside disturbance (ie flakes being dropped into the tank), though they jump in and out to grab a bite to eat

All of the tetras are about an inch+. I've had them for 3 weeks or so, and have done two 25% water changes since then. The tank is fairly well planted, with some rock caves, and I'm using a 7 watt florescent tube.

I've never kept cardinal tetras before, so I just wanted to get this cleared up before I get any more of them. After all, they don't look very pretty guarding their corner most of the time ;)

Thanks very much for any help. I realize this was a fairly long read, hehe

Lady Hobbs
01-24-2007, 01:20 AM
I would not be a bit surprised if that angel is terrorizing them at night.

Chrona
01-24-2007, 01:26 AM