PDA

View Full Version : Sand vs Gravel

ajblbv
12-03-2008, 04:37 AM
Soooo, I am still a newbie to be gentle if I say something stupid or contradictory.... :)

What are the pros and cons of gravel vs sand? It seems to be sand winning out for both planting and maintenance, and a few snails could keep it clean. Now I have read about gravel vacuums, is there something similar to clean sand? Sand seems infinitely easier to me than messing with gravel, but I admittedly haven't physically messed with either or looked at costs of either.

At what point in my fishless cycling do I want to put this in? Still new to the whole levels of each thing so working on that.

Thanks guys.

teach
12-03-2008, 05:02 AM
First off welcome to AC. Sand is my personal favorite its super easy to clean you just use a regular syphon style grave vac and hold it right above the sand and itll suck it up. and if you use play sand it is much cheaper. As for the fishless cycle it is the best way to go there is a sticky about it in beginner freshwater i believe. you will be much happier with sand and fishless cycle

JaredCBell
12-03-2008, 05:27 AM
I used gravel for a very very long time and all I can say is ever since I changed to sand, my life has been SO much easier. Plus, it looks so darn cool. The most important thing when considered sand is getting the RIGHT sand.

I got 100lbs of Silica 30 grit sand from Lowes for 6 or 7 bucks. Washed it, put it in, filled up the tank, let the tank sit for about a day, then turned on my super aquaclear 70, tank was crystal clear in about half a day.

Do sand. your fish will love you!

*just be careful when cleaning or moving stuff around that when you do kick up sand, it doesnt get in the filter. Turn it off when doing siphoning and make sure you get a very course grit of sand. anything above 30, IMO, is to lite and floats in the water too long.

Northernguy
12-03-2008, 06:02 AM