PDA

View Full Version : A couple of Betta queries

ms1000
11-26-2008, 08:27 AM
Hi all, i have been given 3 female Betta(2 look very pregnant to me) and a male that a neighbour has kept for around a month, from what i gather he kept them together. I know this isnt reccomended.

At the moment i have the 3 females in a 10g tank and the male in a 5g, just as i had them spare. A couple of questions if you wouldnt mind as im not experienced in keeping them and ive only a basic knowledge on them after reading a little, to be honest i only took them in as the guy was leaving for another island and i had the 2 spare tanks.

1) Will the female produce the eggs on her own or does she need the male to "squeeze" the eggs from her?

2)Is the tank size correct for them?

3)Will 3 females be ok together? They seem very happy, and have not shown any flaring or aggression toward each other?

4) We are unable to get live food here, only frozen which the male turns his nose too, as he does with Betta flakes. Any other suggestions?

Thanks for reading. I know this info is probably freely available online but its nice to know from first hand experiences.

Nobodynotime
11-26-2008, 09:02 AM
I can only help with a couple questions but I'll try my best.

I think you should be fine with the tanks you have them in. As you've probably seen, betta are usually stored in much more cramped spaces and are lucky to have as much space as you are giving them! I have a 10 gal 'sorority tank' with 3 betta females and they seem to be doing fine, but keep an eye on them, just give them places to hide. And under the recommendation of another forum member I put a couple other fish in there to keep them distracted from each other (guppies for me), they aren't aggressive towards them tho they just watch 'em.