PDA

View Full Version : Cloudy water/cycling?

TampaClint
11-14-2008, 09:03 PM
I am new to this hobby. I was anxious, went out and bought a tank and fish the same day. I set up the tank, cleaned and layed the gravel and added fish. I was unaware of the cycle. I would have waited to get fish if I had known. Anway, I have been reading everything I can get my hands on the past few days. I am worried about the health of my fish. Here is a run down of what is going on.

Sunday, Nov 9th I set up the aquarium. Its a 14 gallon freshwater tank.
I bought three small Tiger Barbs and added them that night.
Monday, Nov 10th I bought alot more fish. I bought 7 more Tiger barbs, 3 golden barbs, 3 cherry barbs, 3 red tailed sharks and an algea eater. The people at the pet store said this was fine, however, everything I have read since is contrary to that. I think its too many fish.

Okay, so even after setting up the tank the water was cloudy. I figured it would go away after a few days. It has not. I began researching cloudy water and that is how I learned of the nitrogen cycle. The water is not very cloudy, but its not crystal clear. I did a 15% water change on Tues Nov 12 and on Nov 13, fearing an overload of ammonia, I added a disolvable waffer that is supposed to neutralize the ammonia. I also added two cap fulls of a product called, Cycle. This product is supposed to be bacteria which will speed up the cycle.

Okay so the fish all seem fine after almost a week. They seem healthy and everyone is getting along. I put some caves and fake plants in the tank for hiding places. All the fish are very small right now, but I realize I will need a larger tank in the near future.

Questions: A)- will the cloudy water cure itself oncee the cycle is complete
B)- should I take any further actions or just let nature take its course?
C)- How long can I expect this to go on before the water clears up and the cycle is complete?

Thank you!

Wild Turkey
11-14-2008, 09:16 PM
A. Yes