PDA

View Full Version : Substrate



pumkin54
01-18-2007, 09:48 PM
When I was planning my aquarium, I initially wanted substrate. I had the brand all picked out and everything. Then the guy at my local pet store said I didn't need it and talked me out of it. Now I kinda regret it. I feel like I'm not giving my plants everything they need to flourish. Is it too late to integrate some substrate into the gravel that's already in there? Like kinda gently mix it in? Or will that be too stressful to my plants and fish?

Is substrate necessary? I want big green happy plants...

Abbeys_Mom
01-18-2007, 11:12 PM
As far as I know, anything you put on the bottom of your tank is "substrate". You can add more gravel or sand to your tank. You just wash it and add it slowly over a few days. What were you thinking of adding?

pumkin54
01-19-2007, 05:28 AM
Seachem's Onyx Sand (http://seachem.com/products/product_pages/Onyx%20Sand.html) or Flourite Red (http://seachem.com/products/product_pages/FlouriteRed.html) for example. I mean the stuff that is specifically geared for planted aquariums, full of minerals to nourish the plants. Instead of the regular old pebbles people normally use.

Abbeys_Mom
01-19-2007, 01:45 PM
I think as long as you rinse it (if you need to, I have never used it) and add it slowly. I added 2 bags of river sand to my 33g after having it running for 2 years or so. It made the water a bit cloudy, but the filter cleaned that up in about 12 after the last sand was put in.

Lady Hobbs
01-19-2007, 06:04 PM
Flourite Red (http://seachem.com/products/product_pages/FlouriteRed.html) ......you can mix it up with your gravel a bit.

pumkin54
01-20-2007, 04:11 AM
Ok, cool thanks! :) Is it worth it?

Abbeys_Mom
01-20-2007, 02:32 PM
I think that would depend on what plants you are planning on growing. If you are sticking to hardy species, then I wouldn't bother. If you want to completely plant you tank with fine leaved plants that are colours other then green, I would invest in getting the extra stuff.