PDA

View Full Version : Snail Problem?

Scruffeh
11-07-2008, 05:18 AM
Hello everyone, my name is Cody and I am very new to fishkeeping. I know this isn't the introduction forum so I'll get to my questions. I bought a 15gallon tank about 2 months ago and filled it with gravel and and water and began cycling the tank without fish. Within the past week I've planted my tank and put in a nice piece of drift wood to go along with my plant selection. To my surprise however I've discovered about 4 snails in my tank that I know I did not buy and did not expect to be there. I am worried they may multiply like crazy and I'll have to start over, can anyone give me some helpful hints for my problem? Or is this a blessing in disguise? I usually never cry over free stuff lol. All you help would be wonderful.

cocoa_pleco
11-07-2008, 05:19 AM
they hitchhiked on your plants. chances are theyre fine, the majority of snails wont eat your plants. some people see them as a nuisance but i like then

Northernguy
11-07-2008, 05:23 AM
The snails came with your plants! They were a freebee.
They probably hitchhiked in on your plants.You did not quarantine them first.
Start picking them out.Do you have any fish yet?
Welcome to the AC!

Scruffeh
11-07-2008, 05:29 AM