PDA

View Full Version : New to forum and Discus

MartyZ
10-20-2008, 03:19 PM
Hello all, I am new to this forum, I am also planning on keeping Discus for the first time in the very near future, As soon as I clean out my tank.

A little backround, I have benn keeping tropical fish for about 20 years now. I have been keeping Malawi's for the last five years with great success. I am currently cleaning out my Malawi tank to make room for Discus.
I have an 80 gallon tank with a Fluval 405 filter that has worked flawlessly for llas and zebras for the last year. I am aware of the water parameter differences between Africans and Discus, However, I have never kept low PH cichlids before and would appreciate all the advice you can provide.

Thanks, in advance,
Marty.

angelcakes
10-20-2008, 04:20 PM
hello and welcome:19: :19:

MartyZ
10-20-2008, 05:25 PM
I've read through some of the posts in this forum in the last few hours and have some specific questions:

1) Many people advocate a bare bottom and at the same time a planted tank. How do you accomplish a planted tank if you have no substrate to for the plants to take root in?

2) How do you lower PH. My tap water is exactly 7.0, however, tap water through an inline filter is around 6.5. I know how to raise PH but not lower it.

3) How many fish in an 80 gallon? I also want to add tankmates, maybe schooling fish like tetra or guppies.

4) Do Discuss require water movement?

Gayle
10-20-2008, 05:41 PM
Hello and welcome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jlennon
10-20-2008, 05:58 PM
Welcome To A.c.!!!

ILuvMyGoldBarb
10-20-2008, 06:14 PM
Welcome to the forum. Let me answer the questions in order.

Personally I advocate a bare bottom tank as I personally find it much easier to keep clean. I have plants in my bare bottom Discus tank and this is accomplished by planting them in small plastic plant pots with enough gravel to hold the plant down.