PDA

View Full Version : Cycled ten gal tank



GeneralGoldeneye
10-08-2008, 02:27 AM
I moved my fish around and now I have a empty 10 gal tank should I add a little bit of ammonia till i get some fish for that tank?

Sasquatch
10-08-2008, 11:47 AM
I moved my fish around and now I have a empty 10 gal tank should I add a little bit of ammonia till i get some fish for that tank?
Definatly, otherwise the bacteria will die off and you'll have to re-cycle the tank.

I'd add about 1 mL of ammonia each day and test before adding more, to make sure that it's all been metabolized.

Mvjnz
10-08-2008, 11:50 AM
If there any snails such as pondsnails or anything in there you don't need to, but that means you'd have to be very careful when introducing fish. Adding ammonia lets you maintain more bacteria and add more fish in one go.