PDA

View Full Version : pond with goldfish

bambilee
10-06-2008, 08:36 PM
This is my first time on here. I have a question and Im not sure if Im doing this right. My question is do I have to stop feeding my goldfish in my outside pond for the winter.? And if so when do I have to stop feeding them. I was told by someone if you continue to feed them in the winter you can kill them. It is starting to get cold here at night. I live in New Jersey. If anyone can answer my question that would be so helpful to me. I do not want to kill my goldfish

Dave66
10-06-2008, 09:02 PM
You stop feeding when the water temperature goes below 60 degrees and stays there. In the fall, you feed gold fish wheat germ pellets designed for it. It gives the fish the fats when they go sombulent when the water dips under 60 degrees, so they can survive the cold.
If your pond is four feet deep or deeper you can leave the gold fish in for the winter, and use a pond heater to make a hole in the ice for gas exchange. If not, you'll have to dip them out and keep them indoors for the winter.

Dave

smaug
10-06-2008, 09:21 PM