PDA

View Full Version : Hi...from Canada

kyriele
01-05-2007, 05:24 PM
Hi Everyone:

Just joined today while researching for my 29 gallon tank (inherited in December). I'm getting tons of info on fish and cycling and algae and ick, etc :) I am totally brand new to fish but currently am raising 3 teenagers, a set of 6 yr old identical twin boys, an English mastiff, an American bulldog and 2 Persian cats...along with an American husband :)

Before I put the first grain in the tank or the first drop of water though, I've come to the conclusion that this will either be a HUGE failed experiment, or the house will be overrun with tanks! No moderation with this hobby, methinks! I've already determined (regardless of what the LFS says!) that the fish I truly want to home, need a MUCH bigger home.

I've also checked Tim's Tropicals and Elmer's Aquarium for compatible fishmates, etc as well as parrotcichlid.com and other sites. Everyone has a differing opinion however and I'm getting more confused with each one.

I've been scouring all the stocking info on every 29 new gallon set up I see, and none have really caught my fancy. I'm still looking for the perfect blend of a showpiece cichlid, some schooling "dither" fish, and a bottom dweller of some kind. My preference were a pair of Blood Parrots, a Flowerhorn or an Oscar as the centerpiece. Sigh. How much do you want to be we end up with a school of zebras, corys and an angelfish. Haha!

I'll keep perusing. You keep posting :)

jeffs99dime
01-05-2007, 05:26 PM
Hi Everyone:

Just joined today while researching for my 29 gallon tank (inherited in December). I'm getting tons of info on fish and cycling and algae and ick, etc :) I am totally brand new to fish but currently am raising 3 teenagers, a set of 6 yr old identical twin boys, an English mastiff, an American bulldog and 2 Persian cats...along with an American husband :)