PDA

View Full Version : Fishless cycling - is my tank ready?

mummaonthaedge
09-03-2008, 12:43 PM
Hi, I am very new to this but have been reading up quite a bit and (despite objections from the chap in the fish shop) decided that fishless cycling was the best way to start up so that my kiddies won't be watching our new fish die after a few days!

The tank has been running with light, filter, gravel etc (no real plants) for 2 weeks and I have a proper Nutrafin Mini Master test kit - trouble is, I'm having trouble working out from the readings if my tank is ok to add fish!!

So I need some help... please :)

Today my readings are PH 8, Ammonia 0, Nitrate 110, Nitrite 1.6
7 days ago they were PH 7.5, Ammonia 0.6, Nitrate(not measured) Nitrite 0.3

From what I can work out, the Nitrate is toxic for the fish? What do I need to do to make the tank ready?

Any help from you experts would be greatly appreciated, thanks :c3:

doug z
09-03-2008, 01:27 PM
Hi!

Welcome to the forum!

What have you been cycling the tank with? Seems to have cycled pretty fast!

Also not sure why your pH would be swinging so much, though I know it is very hard to tell from MY API test kit what the actual pH, etc is..

Keep going, and when BOTH ammonia and nitrite are zero, all you have to do to get rid of the nitrate all you need to do is a large water change.

Keep adding ammonia right up until you are ready to add the fish, keep up the water changes and keep the nitrates down to under 50.

Lady Hobbs
09-03-2008, 01:48 PM
Pure ammonia?

Your tank has finished cycled when your ammonia registers 0, your nitrites register 0 and you have high nitrates. You will then do a large water change (no cleaning) and bring those nitrates down to around 10. (Anything under 20 is OK.)

Were you adding ammonia daily?

Quick Tips for Newbies: How To Cycle (http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=5640)

mummaonthaedge
09-03-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi, and thanks for the quick replies :)