PDA

View Full Version : Nitrites



sushicat
09-01-2008, 02:57 AM
ok so i posted last night about my nitrites deliama so this morning i changed 50% added tap water conditioner and i tested my nitrites didnt even go down last night it was 2.0ppm and right now it is still 2.0ppm, any advice would be helpfull

thanks
sushicat

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 03:01 AM
do you have nitrites in your tapwater?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 03:03 AM
lol ive never really tested that i should right now

sushicat
09-01-2008, 03:05 AM
0 nitrites in my tapwater that is very weird i changed a 50% and still the same >.>

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 03:08 AM
do you have liquid or strip tests?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 03:09 AM
api liquid test kit

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 04:01 AM
weird, everything is right then. i cant see why you are getting the same reading

sushicat
09-01-2008, 05:19 AM
Idk either but the fish are very active and are eating :)

Dave66
09-01-2008, 05:35 AM
Jeez I hate hobby-level test kits. It's entirely possible, sushicat, that 2.0 is the resolution of the regent. If you truly had 2 ppm Nitrite in your tank you'd definitely see the effects in your fishes, and if your tank is completely cycled and well established, you wouldn't have any Nitrite at all. A reading of 2 ppm Nitrite would only indicate your tank is experiencing a cycle, and I doubt that's your problem.

Dave

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 05:42 AM
if i remember right, hes on the end of the cycle

GeneralGoldeneye
09-01-2008, 05:45 AM
Give it time it took me 2 big water changes to lower my level back down to a safe level. So I would try another water change tomorrow also

sushicat
09-01-2008, 06:23 AM
I did a 75 before fish went in and 50 this morning

tanks4thememories
09-01-2008, 06:27 AM
Give it time it took me 2 big water changes to lower my level back down to a safe level. So I would try another water change tomorrow also

Do you vacume gravel when you change water?
Any missing fish?
Using any Chemical amonia or Nitrite filters in canister?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 06:36 AM
I don't vacumm the gravel and I'm running carbon and none are missing

tanks4thememories
09-01-2008, 06:56 AM
I don't vacumm the gravel and I'm running carbon and none are missing

You are almost cycled. What I think is happening is the Amonia eating bacteria are sitting in your gravel bed with tons of food cranking out nitrites...lol
Vacume lightly when you do next water change, should go down faster.

sushicat
09-01-2008, 07:01 AM
Thank you for your advice it's much appreciated I will be doing a 25% change(is water sitting overnight good) I'll vaccumm 1/4 of the tank will post results

tanks4thememories
09-01-2008, 07:06 AM
Thank you for your advice it's much appreciated I will be doing a 25% change(is water sitting overnight good) I'll vaccumm 1/4 of the tank will post results

it slows down your cycle just a tad to vacume but it keeps you and your fish from being stressed also...lol Along with the extra food goes some of your Nitrite eating bacteria but not many of them plus most of them are in your filter anyway.:hmm3grin2orange:

PS water sitting overnight? what do you mean? what is current nitrite level?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 05:57 PM
like i leave water sitting overnight without using tap condtioner na dmy current is 2ppm

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 05:58 PM
like i leave water sitting overnight without using tap condtioner na dmy current is 2ppm

thats a bad idea, chlorine will only go out overnight, you still have heavy metals probably sitting in the water. water conditioner is only $8 a month but its way better than the overnight way.

sushicat
09-01-2008, 06:26 PM
for the last 2 waterchanges ive used conditioner..i still dont know why my readings are still the same did it 5 mins ago still 2ppm

cocoa_pleco
09-01-2008, 06:34 PM
how old is the test kit?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 06:36 PM
i bought it maybe a month ago..idk how long its been sittting on the shelf

tanks4thememories
09-01-2008, 06:43 PM
i bought it maybe a month ago..idk how long its been sittting on the shelf

Test after 30% WC with light vac & let us know.

how often do you feed fish?

sushicat
09-01-2008, 06:56 PM
i feed them twice a day

tanks4thememories
09-01-2008, 06:58 PM
thats a bad idea, chlorine will only go out overnight, you still have heavy metals probably sitting in the water. water conditioner is only $8 a month but its way better than the overnight way.

and if you are changing water with chlorinated water you are killing good bacteria left and right. Here is what I use: http://aquariumpharm.com/cms/Files/Products/tap%20water%20conditioner.jpg

It cost about 7 bucks for 16 OZ and read this:
"Super-strength water conditioner. Instantly removes chlorine and detoxifies heavy metals in tap water. Requires only one drop per U.S. gallon. Use when setting up a new aquarium or adding water. Safe for all aquatic life."
http://aquariumpharm.com/Products/Product.aspx?ProductID=46

One drop per U.S. gallon!!! I love it...lol Most LFS's don't seem to like to sell it. I guess they loose too much money on stress coat sales...lol BTW its made by the same people. You buy a bottle of this stuff or any product with a similar dosage ratio and you are done for quite a while.

sushicat
09-02-2008, 04:52 AM
i use aquar plus water condtioner pretty much the same thing

tanks4thememories
09-02-2008, 05:18 PM
i use aquar plus water condtioner pretty much the same thing


You also condition it?

sushicat
09-02-2008, 08:12 PM
ya and i did the w/c with light vaccum still the same level

tanks4thememories
09-03-2008, 05:42 AM
ya and i did the w/c with light vaccum still the same level

Try going to a 40% water change every 2 days with more vacuuming and feed fish once every 2 days as well, until the nitrite levels are lower. Make sure there is extra aeration it helps the fish breathe during higher than normal nitrite levels.