PDA

View Full Version : Cycle doesnt move on to the next stage

dphoenix
08-26-2008, 05:25 PM
I am a newbie here. I have a problem here, see if you guys can help me out.
Right now I m in the stage of cycling my tank, I m still in the beginning stage, where I have very high ammonia close to 5ppm or maybe 5ppm.

The problem here is that the first good bacteria (nitrosomonas...) hasnt formed yet. I dont know how long I should wait for this. It has been 8 days as of today.
I didnt do water change during these days.

Here is my tank spec:

Size: 20 gal
# of fish: 1 (fancy fantail goldfish)
temp: 72F
ammonia level: high very high, I think it's enough to grow the nitrosomonas bacteria.
PH: 7.1
water condition: clear, slightly cloudy

I have been reading any threads, articles, nothing told me what's possibly the problem is.

Could you guys help me? What do you think?

terrapin24h
08-26-2008, 05:35 PM
i've read many places that colder temps cause the cycle to take longer. Are you doing water changes? How much and when? If you are doing water changes, are you using a water treatment that deals with ammonia? If so, you may be getting a false reading from that. I use prime and it says right on the bottle it will cause falsely high ammonia readings for up to 24hours. Do you have any nitrite readings? Let us know

--chris

sushicat
08-26-2008, 05:46 PM
it sounds to me that he is doing a fishy cycle...

Commodore 64
08-26-2008, 06:27 PM
Do you have nitrites or nitrates being formed? If you can't test for those, get a kit for them.

It might take a bit longer with your temp that low. Realizing that you have to keep it cooler for the goldfish, I would continue monitoring the NH4, NO3, and NO2 levels while performing water changes every day. Make sure you are conditioning your tap water with Prime, Start Right, Stress Coat, or whatever. Try to keep the ammonia at 1ppm until nitrites start to form.