PDA

View Full Version : Angel eggs ? Confirmation, please... :-)

nwnittany
08-19-2008, 04:01 AM
Pretty sure these are angel eggs, but I'm new at this, so any help will be appreciated.

One book I have says that the angels will eat the eggs and another says the parents will guard/defend them...LOL... I'm trying to figure out if I should just let them stay where they are, or cut the sword off and put it in an in-tank breeder....

Anyway, this was an exciting day for us....We've only had the angels for about a month...

And, yes, that ugly green stuff on the back wall of the tank is algae...I'm still trying to figure out how to balance food, oxygen, light, etc....

Sounguru
08-19-2008, 04:07 AM
They are eggs leave them be and see what the parents do they may eat a few batches, but raising the away from the paernts is a real pain in the .....

They will get it right if you have a pair after a few tries.

If they turn white they are no good and are sterile.

Lady Hobbs
08-19-2008, 04:10 AM
Some do OK with the parents and some don't. More than not, the parents will eat the fry the first few times but they also clean the fungus from the eggs and clean away the dead eggs so they have their purpose, as well.

Algenco raises angels by the tons and I'm sure he'll be around to answer your questions better. I think he separates his eggs from the parents.

nwnittany
08-19-2008, 04:10 AM
soun/Lady,

Right now they appear to be kinda clear (can't tell from the pic - my photographic skills suck big-time).

Thanks for the advice...

Sounguru
08-19-2008, 04:19 AM
No prob I used to raise angels back in the day but I alway sleft the eggs with the parents until the fry were 3 weeks but I had a good set of breeders...

Hails
08-19-2008, 09:02 AM