PDA

View Full Version : Hey, I'm Ascendant! Help~

Ascendant
12-24-2006, 09:12 AM
Heya guys and girls, Im ascendant, im new to aquariums and im currently setting up a Freshwater aquarium for now, and i might move on to heated freshwater later on.

Im having a problem with murky water. Today i bought a 80litre tank filled her up after rinsing the pebbles and putting in a large piece of driftwood in. Its a brown color and I figured its because of the pebbles, so I've got 2 filter systems running to clean it out

any help/suggestions?

crackatinny
12-24-2006, 10:19 AM
Hi mate and welcome, if you do a search within the forum on driftwood, there was a recent thread about treating it before use, one of the issues brought up in the thread was that it can release tannin into the water, turning it a colour of tea.

f1oored
12-24-2006, 10:52 AM
Yep, if the water is brown it's probably the drift wood. The filters won't make the brown go away either. Just water changes.

Nautilus291
12-24-2006, 04:01 PM
I recently bought a piece of driftwood and i have it soaking in a bucket. Everyday i change the water. Im going to keep doing this till the water stops turning colors. Maybe you should try the same thing with yours.

Lady Hobbs
12-24-2006, 05:35 PM
Posters previous to me are all on the money. Driftwood releases tannins into the water for a couple of weeks. No big deal and it hurts nothing. Actually I rather like the brackish water look but it won't be with you for long.

Are you doing a fishless cycle? Check up on that before adding fish to that tank and save yourself a bunch of headaches.

You mentioned you might move on to a heater freshwater system later. All freshwater fish need heat other than goldfish (which you can't have with other freshwater fish.) Normal temps for most (but not all) freshwater fish is 74-78.

And Welcome to AC Community Forum where the fun never stops.

Incredulous_Ed
12-26-2006, 05:55 AM