PDA

View Full Version : fin rot or something else? please help

jimmay
12-23-2006, 09:22 AM
hi all, from melbourne australia

I have had my bubble eye in a 40 litre (10 gallon) tank for about 6 weeks now with another shubunkin. About a week ago I introduced 4 Black (gold) widows into the tank. Things seemed to be going very well, it was receiving the occasional bullying from the shubunkin with nipping to the fins and cheeks occasionally. Last night I noticed that his fins had started to shred and were deteriorating, I got up at about 6am this morning to go to work and the fins didnt seem much worse however when i got today one of his bubbles had popped and the other one didnt looks so. I am only new to the hobby but from what I can tell it doesnt look like what i have been told fin rot should, the fins arent slimey and there arent any blood streaks through them. I also havent noticed the widows (tetras) attacking at all however to me this seems like the only explination. He is not looking very good at all now

I have divided the tank in half with some gutter guard so that the bubble eye is separate from the rest and added 1 teaspoon of melafix to the tank. I have been told that adding some salt may also help but how much and what sort of salt do i add.

Is there anything else i can do, I also have the problem that because its so close to xmas now and all the aquariums are closed. I am also going away tomorrow morning for 2 nights!!! AAAARGGGHHH! Should i up the amount of melafix to the solution and add some salt??? Will normal supermarket salt be OK until i can get to an aquarium and get some salt from there?

Please help.

Here is a pic, the other side of his face has a popped bubble.

http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h144/jimmay6969/fin-rot.jpg

kimmers318
12-23-2006, 12:56 PM