PDA

View Full Version : Questions....

lemans81
12-21-2006, 09:50 AM
I am not a complete newbie, but these are some easy newbie questions so...

OK first we will start with the most pressing question.

I have 2x 2 gallon tanks, with filtration and light. They each house one male Betta, algae is growing slowly and I want to add something to eat algae. I am thinking either 2xshrimp or 2xsnails, or 1xshrimp & 1x snail. There is a small place for snail/shrimp to hide and a plastic plant or two in each tank with gravel substrate. If the snail or shrimp was eaten, I could always buy another one so thats not so much the concern. I am more concerned with room and general compatibility, I realize there is always a chance. My wife just found a gift card for $10 that expires today so I need to make my decision today sometime.

OK on to less pressing questions.
In my tank currently:
55 gallon tank
2x dwarf Gourami
1x cherry barb
1xSerpae Tetra
1xraphael catfish
3xleopard danios
1xred tailed shark

I am using HOB filters(one is for 30 gallon tank from my old tank, one is rated for 60 gallon tank), 2x100W heater(looking for upgrades as we speak), 2x f15T8 lights(again when money comes around upgrading these too).

Now the questions:
1. Do I need more hiding places and plants?
2. Should I add live plants or wait until I have better lights?
3. At what point should I worry about fish chasing other fish?
(some of the fish chase each other its never for more than 10 seconds, and they lose interest before they even make it the length of the tank, I have yet to see any fin damage. The red tail chases the serpae, the red gourami chases the blue gourami, the serpae chases the red gourami no other squables. We had a CAE which went psycho when moved to the 55 gallon and he had to go he attacked everyone.)