PDA

View Full Version : Lots of shrimp questions

PUNISHER VETTE
07-23-2008, 11:21 PM
I was reading someone elses bio on their tank and they had a 50g tank with about 25 Amano shrimp in there among other things.

At one point i had 3 and haven't seen all them at once in a while but they might just be hiding. I was thinking about getting a bunch more of those to help with my algae. whats a good number to keep algae to about....ZERO!?

I was also wanting to get a LOT more cherry shrimp and maybe some blue pearl shrimp but didn't know if all 3 went well together and if they would do okay in a tank like mine. I bought a bunch of cherry shrimp from Algenco a while back and i think they might have just been too small as i can only see maybe 4 or so at a time.

Now that i have my 30g up and running without any fish in there i was thinking of getting a ton more and seeing if i can get a population running this time.

kaoticice
07-23-2008, 11:50 PM
I'm not an expert about this, but sometimes mixing shrimps are not a good idea. Both the blue pearl shrimp and the cherry shrimps comes from the same family (neocardina) and thus it has a chance of interbreeding with each other. though, I'm pretty sure you're aloud to keep cardina and neocardina species together.

richberstler
07-24-2008, 12:42 AM
I agree, dwarf shrimp will interbreed. Not from experience, but from everything I read when I wanted to mix like you. Amano, Ghost, and one of the dwarfs will work.

HOWEVER...

My experience with CRS, they are the only ones which will reproduce like guppies. If you have plants which will allow the REALLY small babies to hide, you can keep them forever.

I got 30 or so from Algenco a year or so ago for 1 tank and now I have 50+ in 3 tanks EACH! The others you get from stores (Ghost/Amano) require brackish water for young. The CRS/red warf, or whatever you find them as, will do well anywhere you have a healthy tank with plants for hiding (I used Hornwort)