PDA

View Full Version : Transfering to new tank?



labnjab
07-22-2008, 09:44 PM
We recently set up a 55 gallon to move our Goldfish to. It has two HOB filters one is temporary until we get an o ring for our canister. One of the HOBS has biofilter material from the last owner, and the other has one filter from our 30 gallon (we put a new filter in the 30 gallon) We are using NO substrate. We were wondering when we can start adding fish we were planning on doing it one at a time, is it too early? Its been up and running for 24 hours.

labnjab
07-22-2008, 11:44 PM
Instead of risking the goldfish we've had a few months, we bought 4 .29 cent feeders to start the tank cycling. When we are done with the feeders we'll bring them back to the lfs.

Lady Hobbs
07-23-2008, 01:13 AM
Sounds good and you may even want to use more feeders to give you a better bacteria load. I'd get that canister going, too, so that can grow a good amount of bacteria before adding your fish to the tank. Especially since you'll be using no gravel. I bet you can order an o-ring online for next to nothing.

labnjab
07-23-2008, 01:42 AM
I have an o-ring coming, and if it still leaks I'll buy another canister, my LFS has a 100 gallon one for $160, how many feeders should i have, maybe another 4, and also, what would the best filter media and what configuration should it be in for goldfish. Right now all it has is 2 layers of plastic pellets, are those bio-mex? I know it needs more, but there so many choices. I want to get whats best and what will keep the water the clearest.

Lady Hobbs
07-23-2008, 02:29 AM
I'm going to refer you to this thread as everyone wrote what and how they pack their filters here.

http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=25537

It's definately a personal choice what media they use. Some like carbon, some use peat to lower pH, some use ammonia removers and you have to figure out what you think will work for you. What you are seeing is not plastic pellets but a biomax that holds the bacteria. This is to only be rinsed in tank water and not in tap water. Serves the same purpose as the bio-wheel only better (IMO). Using no substrate, I would probably use the ammonia chips since your set-up is new and your canister media will also be new. Just for an added precaution for now.

The O-ring replacement should work for you and your canister should have no reason to leak. A small amount of vasoline rubbed on it also helps. Check prices online if you should ever need to buy a canister as prices are generally better with sales and sometimes free shipping.

What size are your goldfish you will be moving into that tank? Their size would depend if one could be added to your tank yet.

labnjab
07-23-2008, 02:38 AM
One black more is around 4 inches including his tail, the other is maybe 2 inches or so. The orandais maybe 3 inches and the Shubukin is about 2.5 inches. I'll check that link out and thank you for the help. I'm trying to do this tank right unlike the other ones we have where we rushed right into (surprisingly we only lost 3 fish in the beginning and they were all bought from Wal-mart, while all the ones from the LFS are still alive). This site has been a big help.

labnjab
07-23-2008, 02:54 AM
I read through the section on filter media and my manual and it looks like i'll use a course foam pad on the side, the carbon and ammonia chips on the bottom, and then 2 layers of biomax.

Lady Hobbs
07-23-2008, 02:59 AM
You'll find having a larger tank much easier than the smaller tank. The water doesn't get as high in toxins due to the volume of water which helps a lot in the loss of fish and it's easier to cycle with fish, as well. Knowing me, I would have probably cycled using the goldfish you have and just tested the water daily to make sure it was in the safe range. It would have been nice if you had some established media to start with and too bad you put new stuff in the 30 gallon filter. That media would have given you a start rather than everything being new.

Lady Hobbs
07-23-2008, 03:00 AM
I read through the section on filter media and my manual and it looks like i'll use a course foam pad on the side, the carbon and ammonia chips on the bottom, and then 2 layers of biomax.

Sounds good.

labnjab
07-23-2008, 03:17 AM
The hob filters actually took the same filter media size as my 30 gallon, so i put the old media from the 30 into one of the filters in the 55. Also 2 of the biofilters in the 55 are used (theres a total of 4) I don't know if that helps.

I'm gonna buy some more feeders tomorrow.

One more question, how often should i change the water?

Lady Hobbs
07-23-2008, 03:35 AM
Since you're cycling, you should only have to change the water if the ammonia or nitrites get too high. You probably won't have to do a water change until you have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and have your cycle done. Have you a test kit by chance because they sure take the guess work out of things? I don't think with even 8 feeders your water will get too toxic.

So, you are actually using some used media after all? Awesome. You could add your two smallest goldfish if you wanted instead of more feeders but watch those feeders. They are produced in such huge amounts and in such crowded tanks that they can carry parasites. Make sure you see no ick or fungus on them before adding your own. Whatever makes YOU more comfortable. If more feeders are what you'd feel better about, then go that route.

If you don't have a test kit, your LFS will do your water tests for you.

labnjab
07-24-2008, 12:24 AM
We do have a test kit (the one with the drops, not strips) and i added some more feeders today for a total of 8. I'm gonna use just the feeders to cycle it, i just don't want to chance loosing one of our fancy's. We've grown attached. How long does a cycle usually take? Once its finished and we add the fancy's were gonna put a heater in the 30 and then move the tropical fish and hopefully buy a few more tiger barbs.

labnjab
07-24-2008, 01:31 AM
I noticed that there were 2 different types of biomax that came with my canister, one is porous and the other is smooth, is there a difference between the 2? There is one basket of the porous and one of the smooth.