PDA

View Full Version : how hard is it to look after discus fish ?

melbfish20
07-09-2008, 07:37 AM
Do you need to have years of experience with looking after fish ? and how much harder is it than looking after most other fresh water fish ?

Fishalicious
07-09-2008, 07:42 AM
If you can keep you waterparameters stable and find a breeder who breeds them on tap water they are just as easy as any other fish.

xximanoobxx
07-09-2008, 07:44 AM
i think they are much harder because you have to do more frequent water changes and you need RO water to keep them cuz they need soft water. They are vulnerable to disease. If you put like a fish that has disease in the discus tank, it'll kill all of ur discus.. I wanted to keep discuses but im a noob at fish keeping lol... So i decided to do an oscar tank which i'm still planning and stuff

ILuvMyGoldBarb
07-09-2008, 10:09 AM
you need RO water to keep them

Absolutely not true. Yes they do need soft water but you do not need RO water to acheive that. I've been keeping Discus for a while with not a single drop of RO water. Besides that, captive bred Discus will thrive in water that has a pH of up to 7.6.

I'd suggest reading through the sticky at the top of this forum for further info on keeping Discus. It's not as hard as some people make it out to be, it's just more work.

melbfish20
07-09-2008, 12:04 PM
Absolutely not true. Yes they do need soft water but you do not need RO water to acheive that. I've been keeping Discus for a while with not a single drop of RO water. Besides that, captive bred Discus will thrive in water that has a pH of up to 7.6.

I'd suggest reading through the sticky at the top of this forum for further info on keeping Discus. It's not as hard as some people make it out to be, it's just more work.

that sticky was helpful
would this be a fairly accurate weekly maintenance list for a discuss tank ?

2 X30% water change
check nitrate,nitrite,PH and ammonia twice a week