PDA

View Full Version : iridescent shark (Pangasius hypophthalmus).

funnyfish
07-05-2008, 06:50 AM
Ok so I am very new to this world and adopted a 55 gallon tank with a pair of Angels they are an ok size, 2 cat fish, 1 pelco hes pretty big, 1 grouami, and 1 iridescent shark. I did not know that is what he was until I posted pics on the beg. post and someone there told me what he was and when I looked it up I found him....
I have added some live plants 2 tiger barbs, 1 neddle nose, 1 black ghost knife
The grouami killed the ghost knife the 1st night we had it everyone else seems to be doing very well so far
My questions is what should I do about the iridescent shark I had alot of diff of opinion in the other post some think I should take him to LFS I now I dont want to do that because I really like him alot and feel I have kinda bonded with him and I dont want him to be killed by someone dumber than me. At least for now I am keeping him happy and alive buy the way he is close to a foot long and close to a year old.

Also my water is at about 82 - 84 and my WP have chanaged since yesteray and I expected that and know I need a pratial water change but now they are GH 180 KH 240 PH 7.0 - 7.5 NO 2 0 and my NO 3 is close to 20
Now I know these are off and I will do a partial change tomorrow do you all have any sugg for me...
Thank you all so far I am very happy I have found this place everyone has been very helpfull and kind while teaching me alot

Dave66
07-05-2008, 07:05 AM
I quote myself:

"A true giant and all too available in shops are Pangasius hypophthalmus; the Iridescent Shark.