PDA

View Full Version : Rams with Apistos?

Tolley
06-29-2008, 06:03 PM
I have been wondering for ages if you can keep Rams ( GBR or Bolivian ) with Apistos like Cockatoos macmasteris borellis e.t.c?

Does anybody know? and any extra info like group sizes and tank sizes?

Thanks, Tolley.

fins_n_fur
06-29-2008, 06:27 PM
Yes, I believe you can with most apistos. Not sure about the Macmasteri though, if memory serves that can be more aggressive than the other apistos, but that might only be during breeding. Putting a male with 1-3 females, a harem, is usually the suggested grouping.

Tolley
06-29-2008, 06:50 PM
ok thanks

if i ever find a good deal on some would any fit my 50g? 36x18x18 good width and has lots of wood and rocks

It has 3 Bolvian Rams, Would it be ok just getting one? should it be male or female?

Is there any other apistos to stay away from?

This is all just for future reference.

country_boy454
06-29-2008, 07:13 PM
I have my Macmasteri female with a pair of Golden Rams. They seem fine so far. In fact they swim all over together!

Tolley
06-29-2008, 07:14 PM
A couple more, is a stable ph of 7.0 Good enough for apistos?
My temperature is 83 f for the rams. if aa had an apisto would i need higher/lower?

Thanks countryboy!

country_boy454
06-29-2008, 08:02 PM
Well currently my ph is stable at about 7.4. They are starting to breed in it so I would think 7 is good enough for them. I think you would need to dial the temp down a bit. My Gold Ram tank is at 79-80 and the Apisto seems to like it. They say a max of 28-30 degrees C(but not long at 30 C), so I think that is about 80-82 F?

Dave66
06-29-2008, 08:03 PM
Tolley,
Your pH is OK, but what are the gH and kH? Reason I ask is you'll get more milage out of the rams and apistos if it's soft.