PDA

View Full Version : What's the correct light to get?

TorqueWorks
06-18-2008, 02:26 AM
I currently have a 75 gallon tank. What would be a good light to get for my tank? I plan on using live plants in the tank. Where is the best place to shop for one? All of the local fish stores have to order one, so I might as well just order it myself and try to save a few bucks.

gunk
06-18-2008, 02:42 AM
I'm not an expert but I've been looking into lights for my tank and I can say that the overall consensus is you will need about 2-4 watts per gallon of water you have and a color temperature of at least 6700K. So for your tank you will probably need around 200 watts of light at 6700K or higher. It can get expensive to get this kind of lighting but if you have the money I think it's worth it. Good luck!

cocoa_pleco
06-18-2008, 02:43 AM
ebay is the best, i got my 28" 260w PC there for $90, a 260w PC would probably work on your tank too

Tigerbarb
06-18-2008, 02:43 AM
Anything that will give you atleast 3 watts per gallon will work. I'd suggest getting the strongest light you can afford.

Evil Slimy
06-18-2008, 02:51 AM
It depends on the type of plants you want and how much maintenance you want to do on the tank in terms of trimming, fertilization, co2, etc... More light generally means more plant selection, but a lot more maintenance on the tank.

If you think you'll be happy with low light plants, there is no point in getting 2wpg or higher and create more work/expenses for yourself. It's definitely limiting in terms of what plants you can grow, but low light tanks can still be stunning.

Past 2wpg on a 75g tank you will require pressurized co2 injection because dosing excel won't really be cost effective and diy co2 won't produce enough co2 to be of any benefit. Past 5 or 6wpg it's going to become almost impossible to control algae.