PDA

View Full Version : What kind of shrimp??

squirt_12
06-02-2008, 10:18 PM
I have a tank that I would really like to make a shrimp tank but I am not sure if I can for a few reasons.

It is my 10g plant grow out tank.
The tank stays at around 70-76F
I am running a DIY CO2
I add flourapride liquid ferts
and it is a natural tank...meaning no filtration. I find that the plants have been growing alot better since I have had no filtration.
Right now the tank is about semi-heavily planted and I trim the plants and plant them again and move some around. Would that be bad for shrimp??

I think that it would be really cool to have shrimp but I am not sure if I am able to with these conditions.
If I can keep shrimp...what kinds??

Tolley
06-02-2008, 10:23 PM
hmm im no expert but maybe if you could add a sponge filter? it would be easy to hide with your plants.

are you having any fish in the tank? if so what?

i like these to
amano shrimp (2")
cherry shrimp (1")

both awesome aslong as you have no big fish i'd go with the cherries because they're awesome as ive mentioned lol and will breed!

squirt_12
06-02-2008, 10:27 PM
hmm im no expert but maybe if you could add a sponge filter? it would be easy to hide with your plants.

are you having any fish in the tank? if so what?

i like these to
amano shrimp (2")
cherry shrimp (1")

both awesome aslong as you have no big fish i'd go with the cherries because they're awesome as ive mentioned lol and will breed!
Thanks for bringing the fish up...I forgot. I have about 10ish snails (3 different kinds.lol.) and about 5-6 feeder guppies in the tank just to keep the bacteria alive but I can easily take them out.
Would I HAVE to have a filter for shrimp?? I can get one but I don't want to diffuse out to much CO2.
My main concern is to my temperature. I don't know if that is enough or not but I have found that with the lower temperature my plants have been growing way better than when it was at 78-80F.