PDA

View Full Version : Planning First SW Tank - critters?

wbzorker
05-25-2008, 11:27 AM
Hi,
I've been keeping FW tanks for several years now and am casting my eye on SW set-ups. There's a whole lot of reading for me to do if I go this route. Before I get in too deep, like over my head lol, I'd like to better understand what non-fish critters I could have. My current passion for FW are snails and I've looked at the beautiful snail and crab clean-up crews that SW tanks can have. What other types of mobile/semi-mobile critters could I go for? Don't have a firm tank size yet, it's going to depend on the needs of the critters and the pocket-book but it will be between 20g and 50g. I don't want anything poisonous or delicate for my first tank. I've read some about nudibranches, sea slugs, sea cucumbers/apples but my source docs weren't geared around aquariums.

All suggestions will be deeply appreciated,

TowBoater
05-25-2008, 11:45 AM
Go as big as you can if you are new to s/w. S/w provides a very large variety of inverts and such you can get but sadly most are poisonous so you have to work around that. There are several variety's of hermits and they are very humorous to watch work around you tank. There are several snail sand one of the coolest is the narcissus snails because you see there snouts sticking up out of the sand and then when you feed all of the sudden you have a bunch of new snails out in the open. Several crab variety's are available. My favorite has to be the arrow crab or the emerald crab. The emeralds are always feeding and the arrows just look cool. Shrimp are widely available and a few like the skunk cleaner and coral banded will clean fish and prevent several problems. Never get sea cucumbers and such if you can avoid it. Corals are beneficial to a tank rather it be a polyp or an SPS or LPS coral. Are you wanting corals? If so then be ready to spend a lot of $$ on them and lighting. Get several power heads and a skimmer if you can.

ILuvMyGoldBarb