PDA

View Full Version : Psycho rosy Barb ?

Jenny81
05-15-2008, 01:04 PM
Hi all. I am fairly new to the aquarium world. I started the tank around 5 months ago and started off with 2 tiger barbs as 'pilot fish'. They were wonderful, however i soon noticed agression in them towards a silver shark which we added a week later (which later died from stress). I learned that it is best to keep barbs with barbs. Not long after, 1 of the tigers died. .
About 2-3weeks ago we bought a Rosy barb and a Cherry barb (advised this is fine and sticking to the barb family and thinking 3 were enough) and all was going well until the last week or so. The Rosy is so aggressive he has destroyed my cherry barb. I have just removed Cherry from the tank to save him from prolonged torcher, and all but 2 fins have been 'eaten' away. Rosy is also showing aggression towards the tiger barb, who is the same size but the tiger has the advantage of speed at this point- however i think the stress of CONSTANT chasing is getting him down. Is this normal ? The general health of the tank is good and established. They are in a 60 ltr tank with medium coverage, there are no live plants, i feed them twice a day (in hope that psycho will settle down). PLEASE HELP! I do not have another tank to seperate them either. If i were to get more rosy barbs can they do this to eachother too? Thanks for any responses. :help:

Fishalicious
05-15-2008, 01:45 PM
Barbs are indeed best kept in barb species tanks only but then also 1 type of barb. The more the better as the aggression can be spread out more.

angelcakes
05-15-2008, 03:36 PM
hello and welcome...............:19:

MandyL
05-15-2008, 06:32 PM
I would guess that you are seeing aggression because the barbs are not in schools of their own species. They feel very insecure and stressed if they are not in a school of at least 6.

Lady Hobbs
05-15-2008, 06:36 PM