PDA

View Full Version : Sex of zebras??

Cichlid*Newbie
04-26-2008, 02:33 AM
Can anyone tell if these are male or female, best pick i could get.

OscarFan
04-26-2008, 02:43 AM
look close the males will have a bluish tint in their fins. They are to close to be males. So atleast one is female. my money is on both females. And the head is pointy instead of rounded.

Both females.

Cichlid*Newbie
04-26-2008, 02:45 AM
Hmm well in the pic the only one id think would have blue in the fin is the lighter one on the top right..which is the smaller one....hmm but i dont really see blue when i look up close

OscarFan
04-26-2008, 02:48 AM
now that I look at it closer they are to light to be males to.. Are you trying to breed them??

Cichlid*Newbie
04-26-2008, 02:50 AM
Well no...im new to this, just kinda wanted to know what sex they were. I may not keep them..i have them with kenyis if the aggression gets too much i may have to get rid of them.

OscarFan
04-26-2008, 02:53 AM
I aint familiar with kenyis but my male Zebra is highly aggresive. he killed another male and bights my Oscar in the tale.

Cichlid*Newbie
04-26-2008, 02:54 AM
So you'd guess these to be females, it so that good, then i only have one male in the tank. The zebras are really good actually dont bother the kenyi

Dixie
04-27-2008, 04:53 AM
Hmmm I dunno. From what I've read, the females stay darker reddish orange and the males get lighter color as they get older, almost a peachy color. Unless you get the kind like wild caught where the males are blue. I have 3 red zebras and they have all gone from being a bright reddish orange to a lighter peachy color so I'm assuming they are all three male. I know the largest one of mine (about full grown) is starting to turn into a meanie. Again if I don't get a bigger tank or some females, they are gone. Two of them will be any way. I don't want more than one male.

Dixie
04-27-2008, 05:11 AM
Cichlidnewbie,