PDA

View Full Version : Hello

havoKKKK
04-21-2008, 08:47 PM
Hello, ranha lovers. I am rather new to piranha and haven't started a tank yet. My first group of fish were guppies and I raised them in a 5 gallon with a filter, and a heater and they were pretty nice first fish. I had quite a few of them but not up to the point where it was overcrowded. My next species of fish were bettas. I had one male and one female. I kept them in seperate aquariums! Both groups of fish were kept awhile ago and I'm now looking to move up to something more "interesting." I'm looking at how much time I have to dedicate to these fish. I am looking to purchase around 6 babies. I know that they will grow up to become very large fish but I was thinking about starting in a 30 gallon with them? With that said, I was wondering if someone could list all the things I would need along with the tank and prices. I noticed most people do not feed their piranha feeders. Is that because of the frequent cleanings you have to provide or because it is unhealthy?

-thanks

angelcakes
04-21-2008, 08:55 PM
hello and welcome to the forum..............:19:

RainMan
04-21-2008, 08:56 PM
Welcome to the AC! I think 30gallon is too small for pirahna, especially 6 of them. I think you're looking at 125 gallon tank for that many. You might be able to keep 6 in there for a few months.

Feeding feeders is messy and a pita... plus prepared foods these days are much safer and healthier for fish.

angelcakes
04-21-2008, 08:58 PM
Welcome to the AC! I think 30gallon is too small for pirahna, especially 6 of them. I think you're looking at 125 gallon tank for that many. You might be able to keep 6 in there for a few months.

Feeding feeders is messy and a pita... plus prepared foods these days are much safer and healthier for fish.
i think i would agree.........

havoKKKK
04-21-2008, 08:59 PM