PDA

View Full Version : Cycle Completed?? Could this be??

Cichlid_Man
11-13-2006, 04:01 PM
Hi folks.
Very strange here.
I started up my 30g tank last week, 8 days ago to be exact.
The tank had the old gravel in it from when I had my cichlids. The gravel was still wet but the tank was empty for about a week so I don't think the bacteria stayed alive.
Here is what has happened. I filled the tank.
I added shrimp for my source of ammonia and got a reading in 2 days of around 4ppm.
Then I added stress zyme, raised the temp, and tested the water daily.
Up until yesterday the ammonia was present, but this morning it was gone.
TOTALLY GONE!
I NEVER got a nitrite reading, but today as the ammonia was gone, I got a nitrate reading of 10....
How can this be explained? Is my tank cycled or not having never seen nitrites? Is it possible the old gravel still had some live bacteria in it?

Glasstapper
11-13-2006, 04:37 PM
I'm no expert on cycling, so I don't really know what happened there. You're sure your tap water doesn't already contain nitrates? If the cycle was starting all over, it's NOT possible to have one of the major parts of cycle just skip. Maybe wait another week or two and keep testing your water. If you still have readings of 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite with your nitrates slowly rising, then maybe there's a small possibility you had some nitrites, but they converted to nitrates before you caught it on the test.

I honestly don't know and just taking a guess here. Maybe someone else has something better to add?

Cichlid_Man
11-13-2006, 05:27 PM