PDA

View Full Version : PH has dropped a bit-need advice please

Cichlid_Man
11-11-2006, 04:13 PM
Hi all!
As most of you know, I have a 75g tank with 12 cichlids in there.
10 are Mbuna and 2 are Utaka??(is that right spelling?)

Anyway, I have crushed coral substrate and 3 tuffa stones which are supposed to help keep PH up.
My PH has gone to 7.6, not terribly low, but I like it at 8.2.

Is there any harm adding a teaspoon or so of baking soda, or should I invest in the Malawi/Victoria buffer/enhancer???

Just for the quick fix till I get to town...is baking soda OK?

Lady Hobbs
11-11-2006, 06:04 PM
I hate meds and think the baking soda idea you have is good. However, I AM NO EXPERT. Are you aerating the water? Brings it up for me when I don't want the higher pH.

Cichlid_Man
11-11-2006, 06:10 PM
I am aerating the water.
Maybe the darn quick cure played around with the PH.

I had to use it just in case there were gill flukes.

The special buffer stuff for cichlids is supposed to be great.

It is not a medication, it is right from the lake where the fish are from...I think?

I don't think baking soda will harm anybody till I can get to town, but I will wait for more responses before I put it in.

Lady Hobbs
11-11-2006, 06:36 PM
Could very well be. I used Water Clarifier one time and it showed my pH at around 5 when it's always a stable 7.6. Some of that stuff can also give a false reading. Possibly you should wait until that stuff leaves the tank to judge it better?

NorthernBoy
11-11-2006, 08:47 PM
I use Sea Chems Malawi Buffer and it works well. You should check you alkalinity(kH). If it is too low it will be difficult to keep pH stable in your tank. Your kH should be above 120. Mine is always really high (about 280-300) so my tank maintains a pH of 8.4. You can try a the buffer, that will help to raise your pH.

Cichlid_Man
11-11-2006, 11:23 PM