PDA

View Full Version : backgrounds for tanks??

rocklobster
04-05-2008, 11:19 PM
I want to do something cool for a tank background and i was wondering what other people have just so i can get some ideas.
I just read a thread about cement and styrafoam backgrounds would you put something like that on the inside of your tank?
lol i am new at all this.

sailor
04-05-2008, 11:52 PM
Google DIY aqarium backgrounds and you have lots to read.

rocklobster
04-05-2008, 11:54 PM
lol yeah i guess that would be a start.

PUNISHER VETTE
04-06-2008, 12:14 AM
i just used some construction paper on my old tank......

Lady Hobbs
04-06-2008, 12:44 AM
I've seen slate siliconed to the back as well. Looks neat but must make the tank very heavy.

Ellen4God
04-06-2008, 01:08 AM
Just today, I put regular printing paper on the back of my betta tank. lol I reckon it depends on what you're wanting!! I would definitely google it though. Some people get pretty creative!!

Somebody here (I can't remember who - sorry!!) has her son's water color painting as the background on one of her tanks. I think this is one of the most precious ideas ever!

Halelorf
04-06-2008, 03:30 AM
I always go to a office supply store near where I work and get rolls of really cheap craft paper. Usually I get either black or blue colored paper so it makes fish colors really "pop" out at you. Just tape it to the back, $2 and 3 minutes of work to make it look good!

Drumachine09
04-06-2008, 03:31 AM
I use satin black spray paint, and spray the back off the tank.

cocoa_pleco
04-06-2008, 05:18 AM
i tried using those thin square foam sheets from dollar stores a couple of years ago, i bought about 10 for my 15g, and taped them together from the back, not permanent and works awesome

Billythefish
04-06-2008, 05:52 AM
I have used fabric and coloured bin liners cut to size and a little tape, it looks real good and you can change em when you want!, and ive seen a tank in a frends house with a oil painting on the glass!