PDA

View Full Version : Feeding my Cichlids- What and how much?

Cichlid_Man
10-22-2006, 04:35 PM
Hi,
I am new to Cichlids and am looking for some advice on Feeding them.
Right now I am giving them small Cichlid pellets (Cichlid Gold), and every so often I give them freeze dried brine shrimp which they really love!

As they are growing, it is getting quite expensive to feed them.
They eat a lot!

What is, in your opinion, the best food for Malawi Cichlids?
How much and how often should I feed them. I have heard mixed opinions. Some say once a day and give them as much as they can eat in 2 minutes, while others say feed them smaller portions but more times each day.
Thanks for your help

NorthernBoy
10-22-2006, 05:32 PM
many malawis are primarily vege heads. bloodworms or shrimp once a week at most. buy a vege based food for them. I have used pieces of nori before. get a vege clip they will eat off tyhat. many are algae eaters too.

Cichlid_Man
10-22-2006, 08:27 PM
many malawis are primarily vege heads. bloodworms or shrimp once a week at most. buy a vege based food for them. I have used pieces of nori before. get a vege clip they will eat off that. many are algae eaters too.

Thanks for the help.
I have been giving the brine shrimp a bit more often, but I have had no bad results with my older tank Cichlids.

Cichlid pellets seem to have soy and some veggie stuff, but it also has shrimp.

I'll have to get a veg clip...
Don't know what nori is?

I was at the shop before and I picked up a Malawi Cichlid book.
Pretty intense reading in there. They even sella special Cichlid salt. Up until now I have been using regular aquarium salt, but I am going to switch to the cichlid salt.

talk to you soon!

clinko@i2k.com
11-21-2006, 02:24 AM