PDA

View Full Version : Goldfish with curved spine

carebear
03-22-2008, 09:45 PM
Hi - I'm new at this! My fancy goldfish's spine seems to be curving and he's having trouble swimming (starting to float upside down). Does anyone know what he could have? If so, what can I give him to make him better, if anything? HELP!!

Tolley
03-22-2008, 09:49 PM
Could be old age, How old is he?

If not could be Fish TB this is very dangerous, do not put any bare cuts in the water as in can pass onto humans. If it is i think its best to euthansize the fish to stop it spreading to your other fishes.

Read this link http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/disease/tbc.php

carebear
03-22-2008, 09:58 PM
Thanks so much! I purchased the fish about 6 mos. ago and he is definitely a younger fish. I had no idea that this could spread to humans. YIKES! He's also my favorite... :ssad:

angelcakes
03-22-2008, 10:02 PM
i also agree with tolley.its the best thing :ssad:

Fishalicious
03-22-2008, 10:09 PM
Sounds like Scoliosis - curving of the spine due to bad nutrition (could have been when he was born)

Tolley
03-22-2008, 10:13 PM
Read through the link it might not be.

Good post Jess i forgot about that.

carebear
03-22-2008, 10:29 PM