PDA

View Full Version : Cycling my 75 gallon Tank-Need Advice

Cichlid_Man
10-21-2006, 12:52 PM
Hi,
My name is Joe and I need some advice on getting my tank cycled.
I am not new to fish, but I AM new to Cichlids and getting a tank cyclrd correctly.
I have read a lot about fishless cycling by actually adding ammonia to your tank. I was not able to find pure unscented ammonia so I went ahead and bought my 8 Cichlids.

It is about one week since I added fish, and this morning I have seen my very first "trace" of ammonia. It is extremely slight. Hardly a reading at all.

I need to know what my next move is so I don't get too high of an ammonia reading, and also to avoid a serious nitrate spike??

Water change?
How much?

Please help :-)

Fishguy2727
10-21-2006, 01:16 PM
at this point you dont have to worry about a nitrate spike, actually you should never have to as it builds up very slowly and usually wont even start until the cycle is complete. however i would test for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate now and until the cycle is over (when the nitrites are down to 0 after they have risen/spiked) when you can cut it down to just nitrate. are these african cichlids? if not, what kind? because in general 8 is too much for a 75 (so i just want to check what exactly we're talking about here). do nothing except keep checking your water and watch the fish for signs of stress. let it cycle. at that little ammonia if you try to dilute it with water changes and correct things you will more likely throw things off and make the cycle take even longer.

Lady Hobbs
10-21-2006, 03:00 PM