PDA

View Full Version : My neice has a 5g cheapo

RainMan
03-19-2008, 02:58 PM
Well she's my neice to be... Anyway, between her and her mother they have totally killed fish after fish. Gouramis, mollys, catfish, and even a goldfish (fresh from the fairgrounds). This was a birthday present last year in Aug... I told the mother that these 5g tanks are not a good idea. So against my suggestion they went and bought it for her anyway. But, somehow they have managed to keep a single neon tetra alive since Dec. The last incident occured when the mother totally cleaned the entire tank out including the gravel and filter (basically killing all the bacteria). Even after I told her not to do it. The tank of course clouded up and all but the neon died. This is just a single example of what they continually do wrong. Total newbies... and they hate to listen. arghhhh!

Well, to shorten this terrible story... I have finally stepped in and have taken over. I explained the nitrogen cycle AGAIN and what needs to happen. I am going to get a fish book for beginners (hopefully something with lots of pictures and small words). I don't want to be responsible for this little tank forever. They are like an hour drive away too. But, finally they agreed to pay more attention and learn the basics. FINALLY!!! LOL

Tank as it is:
submersed whisper filter, small air stone, built in hood with small light, some ugly pink decorations, pink rocks, and a plastic plant. of course the tank is pink too. Girls... YUK!!! hehe

Here's my question. I think these 5g tanks are basically worthless... unless you're keeping a beta. But, can she get 2 or 3 more of these tetras? I figured that tetra has made it thus far... she and I would like to keep the little one happy. Any other suggestions would be great. I've never had a tank under 20g. So, this is all new to me.

Is it best to use fake plants in here?