PDA

View Full Version : River Tank



Jacquie
10-19-2006, 11:31 AM
My brother inlaw is going to build me a second tank. It will be about 4'long x 1'high x 1'deep.

I'm going to set it up as a river tank and (attempt) to breed hillstream loaches.

Anyone have any suggestions as to how it should be setup, what plants I should use and if I should have a small group of 'middle' level fish or just have hillstreams.

Thanks ^_^

Jacquie
10-24-2006, 11:17 AM
Should I just have hillstreams? Any ideas as to how I should setup a strong water current?

Glasstapper
11-05-2006, 05:59 PM
hi jacquie. I don't know anything at all about breeding loaches, but I did a bit of searching around, and I found this great site.

http://www.loaches.com/hillstream_loaches.html

It's specifically all about hillstream loaches and all of their specific needs. It's extrememly informative.

I hope it helps.

PaulasPets
11-06-2006, 11:28 AM
To get the strong current you will need some good external pumps. Use them to create a closed loop, like often used in marine tanks. You suck the water out of one end of the tank and pump it back in the other end. The best would be to drill holes in your tank to install some jets, like used in jacuzzis.

Paula