PDA

View Full Version : South American biotope?

LosC
03-13-2008, 06:32 AM
All my fish are from S.A. Does this mean I have a South American biotope goin on in my tank? My main question is; what plants would do best in my tank for the following fish: 7 Neon Tetra's, 1 German Blue Ram Cichlid and 6Corydoras. I'm a beginner, just bought my light fixture. I'm going for a more natural habitat look for my fish.

doug z
03-13-2008, 06:44 AM
Here's what I'm looking at for mine (75g with all but one type of fish, dwarf gourami, from S. A.:

Echinodorus martii (background)

Valisnaria spiralis (background)

Echinodorus tennelus (foreground)

Cabomba caroliniana(background)

Bacopa caroliniana (midground)

Brazilian Pennywort ; Hydrocotyle leucocephala (midground)

Amazon Frogbit , Limnobium laevigatum (floating plant)

That should give you a start, I hope..

What kind of light do you have? What sort of substrate? C02?

LosC
03-13-2008, 06:56 AM
Here's what I'm looking at for mine (75g with all but one type of fish, dwarf gourami, from S. A.:

Echinodorus martii (background)

Valisnaria spiralis (background)

Echinodorus tennelus (foreground)

Cabomba caroliniana(background)

Bacopa caroliniana (midground)

Brazilian Pennywort ; Hydrocotyle leucocephala (midground)

Amazon Frogbit , Limnobium laevigatum (floating plant)

That should give you a start, I hope..

What kind of light do you have? What sort of substrate? C02?
Great list. I bought it used off a local classified ad. All I know is it's 15 watts fluorescent. Looks like the cheap light strip that comes with the hood as a kit. I have regular blue gravel in my tank. I have no idea how to plant. Looking for an easy plant to work with. Heres the list I came up with:

Watersprite(getting for free)
Anacharis
Amazon Sword
Java fern
Vallisneria
Ludwigia

^I looked these up as beginner plants, dont know what they look like.

doug z
03-13-2008, 07:56 AM
A good way to see what plants look like is just to google the names.