PDA

View Full Version : Clueless

Adrian
03-11-2008, 12:03 AM
Some of you know that I have gotten the green light to turn my jacuzzi into a pond. It measures 8 feet by 8 feet by 3 feet. I have had goldfish in the past, and had success at it. But this is a completely different ball game. I have no idea on what fish to get, thinking about koi. Not sure where to get them, or how to select them.

Not sure what plants to plant, what substrate to use, anything. I have no experience with this at all. I don't want to harm any fish, so I want to do this right to begin with, so I don't end up with huge problems on my hands later on.

This is what I have to work with. Any ideas, hints, or cheats welcomed.

Nautilus291
03-11-2008, 12:05 AM
Wow that will make a great pond. Its already in the ground and ready to go. I dont have any experience with ponds so I cant help you but good luck!!

Rue
03-11-2008, 12:13 AM
That's more promising than I had envisioned! Should be fun to renovate...

First thing - remove the handle! :22:

Fishguy2727
03-11-2008, 02:10 AM
Not big enough for koi permanently. In Florida you could do fancy or the normal long-bodied pond goldfish.

Adrian
03-11-2008, 02:30 AM
What can I use to cycle this...uhm...tank?

ILuvMyGoldBarb
03-11-2008, 02:34 AM
Have you considered trying Rainbow Dace? They are a lovely little fish I just discovered and am planning to use in my outdoor tank. They are actually native to the US. Are you in Northern or Southern Florida?

Adrian
03-11-2008, 02:35 AM
Have you considered trying Rainbow Dace? They are a lovely little fish I just discovered and am planning to use in my outdoor tank. They are actually native to the US. Are you in Northern or Southern Florida?

I am in central florida. Tampa

Drumachine09
03-11-2008, 02:35 AM
Question:

Why aren't you using it for a jacuzzi?

ILuvMyGoldBarb
03-11-2008, 02:42 AM