PDA

View Full Version : Discus Hexamita

Norm Peer
03-10-2008, 09:37 PM
I'm a newbie here, but I am at my wits end, and I'm about ready to give up on my Discus. I've been keeping and breeding various ciclids for 20 years. One of my 3 tanks is a 125 gallon discus tank. Currently there are 7 discuss ranging from 2.5 inches to 5 inches in the tank. There are about 50 tetras, mostly Cardinals. I keep the tank at 86-87 degrees (30 celcius). I use two large power filters, and a small canister filter. I've had the tank up about 15 months. About 4 months ago I lost my two favorite fish (isn't that how it always works) to Hexamita. One heater failed and the temp dropped about 8 degrees over a couple weeks before I realized. My fish never responded to treatment (I tried various versions of metrodiazonole SP?). Figuring I must have screwed up, I bought a UV sterilizer (9 watt), and started feeding my fish a better frozen diet, and stopped feeding them black worms (for fear of parasites). There used to be angels in the tank. They were the first thing to go.

After a couple months I bought four new discus. No problems until this week when I noticed at least 2 and maybe four have stopped eating. I saw the tell tale signs of white feces coming from my oldest and until now, healthiest fish. I don't know what I could have done wrong. The tank gets a 20% water change every week. I add trace elements,and feed them well 2-3 times per day (bloodworms, beefheart, brine shrimp, flakes and tablets). Despite all this, I now have to try again (likely in vain) to save my beautiful and expensive fish.

Please help! Is this the way it is with discus? Are they always on the verge of getting this fatal illness? What am I not doing? I'm not willing to buy more equipment (no ozonizers, protein skimmers, or reverse osmosis suggestions please). Is it possible to keep these fish healthy in less than an absolutely pristine enviroment? Please no professionals. I don't believe you anymore.

angelcakes