PDA

View Full Version : Sick Angel Fish

ViewingFish
10-13-2006, 04:12 PM
One of my Angels has 1 cloudy eye and is having trouble swimming. The fish is listing.

I noticed the fish wasn't eating and was hiding out in the tank for a couple of days. I did a partial water change and that made things worse.

The fish is still alive, and hanging in there. Does anyone have any suggestions for helping this poor little Angel?

Thanks for anyone who could help.

ViewingFish

Severus
10-13-2006, 07:58 PM
How are your water parameters looking? Depending upon what is really wrong with your angel, there are a few meds that will help things out. Stresscoat, melafix,pimafix, quick cure, Aquarium Salt, Regular daily or every other day partial water changes, etc...

ViewingFish
10-15-2006, 01:13 AM
Thanks for getting back to me. I am new at this.

I checked the water and the Ammonia was a in the caution range, so I did a partial water change and this 1 angel fish just got really stressed after that.

I put him in another tank and used some fungus clear. He isn't sideways anymore, but his eyes are cloudy and he is swimming a bit imbalanced.

I did not think to change the water on a daily basis, I thought that might stress him out more.

I have melfix and salt. The pet store thought it was some kind of bacteria.

It is so frustrating.... I feel so bad for this fish. My other 2 angels are fine.

kimmers318
10-15-2006, 01:13 PM
Any idea why your ammonia is in the "caution" range? If you are still cycling this tank it could be that your fish is reacting to the levels of ammonia which can be very damaging.
What size tank....how old is it....what are the other inhabitants?

ViewingFish
10-15-2006, 03:10 PM
Hello Kimmers318: The tank is about 1 1/2 wks. old. It's size is a 29 Gallon tank. Everyone else in the tank is doing great.