PDA

View Full Version : How To Set Up Salt Water Aquarium

allykay10
03-07-2008, 07:30 PM
Yes, I'm a beginner. And I know it. So please, don't tell me that over and over again. Thank you.

I'm very interested in setting up a reef/salt water aquarium. I have the money to do so (approx $1200), but I need some help with selecting the right tools to do so. So please, any of you have expertise or advice in this area, please select one or all of the questions below to answer:

1. What size tank is recomended?
2. What fish will get along okay (At least 5 types, preferrably colorful & active fish) with a Peppermint Shrimp? (A friend of mine raises them, and offered me one or two to help free up some of her own tank space.)
3. What conditions are required for the water?
4. Is live rock an okay thing to buy?
5. I'd also like to have starfish and/or anemones in the talk, if possible, what are requirements for them?

Please, don't rude if I have misunderstood something or have something all wrong. I really don't like when people post comments saying "You really have no idea what you're talking about, do you?" It's just rude. Please simply state what I don't understand, and explain it. That helps more. Thank you if you do have time to answer my questions and/or offer advice.

coachfraley
03-07-2008, 08:24 PM
1. Your budget is going to limit you to about a 20-30g tank, depending on how much you spend on various items. I don't know if you can get deals where you live, so it is hard to say. A very general rule, is that you should expect to spend $50/gallon on setting up a SW tank (not including livestock). If I had that budget, I would set up a nice 20g, so that I could buy nice equipment and so I had some extra $$ for livestock.

Keep in mind, that is not recommended for beginners to keep small tanks, because they are generally more difficult to keep healthy. I would do a lot of research and reading before you get started. SW is not something you want to learn on the fly!