PDA

View Full Version : Most peaceful BLUE Mbuna species?

Johnenewt1
03-07-2008, 12:43 AM
Hi... I am currently setting up a peaceful 65-gallon Mbuna-only tank and currently own 5) each of: Yellow Labs, Acei (Violet), and Rustys. I would like to add one more type of fish that is Blue in coloration. Based on your experiences, please recommend the most peaceful blue Mbuna I can add to my tank (shade of blue does not matter). Thank you for your help.

Drumachine09
03-07-2008, 12:46 AM
Powder Blue Cichlid. Psuedotropheus Socolofi I believe.

RainMan
03-08-2008, 02:45 PM
+1 on the Pseu. Socolofi

RainMan
03-08-2008, 02:59 PM
Oh and here is one of mine with a rusty so you can have a visual reference. :)

And I just found this one..

And this is a cool pic too.

Sorry... I'm not very good at taking pics yet.

Lady Hobbs
03-08-2008, 03:59 PM
Picture was nice. Good job.

angelcakes
03-08-2008, 04:23 PM
pics are lovely especialy the third he looks very cute........:thumb:

Johnenewt1
03-09-2008, 09:04 PM
Hello,
I’ve posted my above question on 12) different Cichlid forum websites, and have posted the below response on all of them as well:

Thank you everyone for taking the time to read and respond to my question. Your help is greatly appreciated. :) Many people have recommended way too aggressive blue mbuna species for my current peaceful inhabitants. As you can see above, I’m looking for the most Peaceful or, “less aggressive” mbuna setup possible. Because I’m not interested in Haps, Peacocks, dwarfs or carnivores, and based upon the feedback that I have received, I believe the best recommendation was the:

- Pseudotropheus sp. "blue dolphin" in Ndonga (Giant Demasoni)

(Not to be confused with the Cyrtocara moorii "blue dolphin")

http://cichlid-forum.com/profiles/species.php?id=2605