PDA

View Full Version : Algae Eaters

Xandict
03-05-2008, 10:42 PM
I know this may not be the right forum but I'm new at this and read somewhere about someone recommending Otto's as algae eaters. What is the common name of this fish?

Fishalicious
03-05-2008, 10:44 PM
Otocinclus is the name - there are more than 20 different colorations
Common name: Oto Cats

Tolley
03-05-2008, 10:45 PM
otocinclus affinis i think, before you get them i recommend reading dave article on feeding them one second i'll get you the link.

Tolley
03-05-2008, 10:46 PM
here you go, http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=17810&highlight=otocinclus read it, its worth it :D

doug z
03-05-2008, 11:01 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum!

How big a tank will you be putting them in?

Is it an established tank, or a new one (just cycled)?

B_Ez
03-05-2008, 11:40 PM
I just added two otos to my tank on Saturday. I was getting an ugly case of brown algae. As of today, there's no algae on my glass and VERY little on my plants. Those guys are a serious clean up crew.

Xandict
03-05-2008, 11:42 PM
It's an 18G. Still cycling. Just researching for future additions

doug z
03-05-2008, 11:45 PM
They're are big eaters, so if you don't have algae in your tank already, you'll have to keep up with the algae wafers and the parboiled cucumbers.. :)

They like to be in schools of at least 6, but if it's just an 18, then just one I guess..

You could get a single bristlenose pleco, instead..

Xandict
03-05-2008, 11:52 PM
Ok. I'll check them out. Really want something other than CAE that get aggressive later in life

doug z
03-05-2008, 11:56 PM
Plus it'd get way too big for your tank...

Ellen4God
03-06-2008, 12:52 AM