PDA

View Full Version : what is the diffrence between good and bad food ?

melbfish20
03-02-2008, 06:39 AM
Is the main diffrence just simply that the ingredients used are of better quality ? I was comparing my NLS last night which I always feed to a cheaper brand that I use to feed and the ingredients were similar.

Is it fair to say that these are the best 3 brands

NLS
hikari
tetra

in that order

Nautilus291
03-02-2008, 06:44 AM
tetra is not a very good brand. There are huge debates on this website on which food is better nlf or hikira but both of them are quality foods. Im not an expert on fish foods so I dont have an answer for you on what makes them better then the others but Im sure most is the ingredients.

jbeining75
03-02-2008, 06:49 AM
Hikari/NLS - Best brands
Omega - Up there third.....

The labels are very misleading. The aquarium business is self regulated. So those numbers and ingredients on the package are not verified by any government body of any sort. I am sure that all major fish food companies test others products... The biggest thing is digestive enhancing enzymes in the food... NLS and Hikari both have these.. These are enzymes that when ingested assist the fish natural digestion of proteins and vitamins and use more of them instead of wasting them. The package can say 100% protein but the fish will never get that. The body will only absorb so much of the protein before it uses the rest as waste... The reason Hikari and NLS are so much better is the digestive enzymes that allow more protein intake... Not to mention they are loaded with vitamins and minerals that increase coloration....

karbomb
03-02-2008, 07:26 AM
is tetra that bad? i have been primarily using frozen blood worms and brine shirmp or freeze dried versions of these two as the primary food for my fish. as well as fruit flies for my betta.i bought a thing of tetra brand crisps before realizing that it was no good. i am afraid that the tetra food will do more bad then good.