PDA

View Full Version : Plants produce ammonia?



GSA190
02-07-2008, 05:06 PM
I was just wondering if plants can produce ammonia in a tank. Is this possible?

Lady Hobbs
02-07-2008, 05:09 PM
Nope. They absord ammonia. Rotting food causes ammonia. What's up?

jbeining75
02-07-2008, 05:17 PM
yeah hobbs is right rotting food and fish waste are ammonia... plants abord co2 and ammonia and convert to oxy.....

Sasquatch
02-07-2008, 05:19 PM
Only when dead leaves decompose.

Otherwise, they'll absorb ammonia from the water.

GSA190
02-07-2008, 05:27 PM
I had a few live plants in my tank and they looked to be going down the drain so I just took them out because I though they would produce ammonia.

GSA190
02-07-2008, 05:27 PM
and they have a strange brownish waste type of thing producing on them, some also have these tiny green dots on them that weren't their when I first bought them.

Lady Hobbs
02-07-2008, 05:55 PM
I don't know what you had for lights but you had a bit of algae is all. Not uncommon in newly planted tanks. Rotting plants, as stated above, will cause ammonia so it's good to remove any dead stuff. If you don't have good plant lights, stick with slow growers like java ferns, anibus (planted on wood) or get some crypts. No one says you have to have plants to have yourself a nice little tank. Go with what works for you.

Incredulous_Ed
02-07-2008, 08:23 PM
If the plants start to rot it will produce ammonia.